Press Release: 12 Cities, 5 Time Zones, and 1 Guinness World Records™ attempt all taking place at the 2nd Annual Canada Day Drumming Celebration

July 1, 2018

Vancouver, B.C. – The non-profit organization, The Legacy 150 Celebrations Society, is excited to announce that there will be twelve (12) cities participating this year. It includes Vancouver, Calgary, Regina, Winnipeg, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Halifax; with the new cities being Edmonton, Kamloops, Prince George, and Prince Rupert.

Vancouver, Prince Rupert, Prince George, Kamloops at 11:00am PT
Calgary, Edmonton, Regina at 12:00pm MT
Winnipeg at 1:00pm CT
Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal at 2:00pm ET
Halifax at 3:00pm AT

The celebration features a six-minute simultaneous drumming event across 12 participating cities in five time zones to embrace diversity, create understanding, and celebrate unity on Canada Day, July 1st, 2018!

Two highlights during the opening ceremonies include:

  1. Star Quilt Cover will be presented to four distinguished individuals by the Musqueam Indian Band. They include Veteran George Chow, Senator Yuen Pau Woo, Hon. George Chow, MLA Vancouver-Fraserview, and His Worship Gregor Robertson.
  2. Senator Yuen Pau Woo will present the Senate Sesquicentennial Medal to five remarkable individuals who have helped to shape this nationwide drumming celebration. They are: Addy Cheong, James Chu, Sandra Sung, Alfred Woo, and Edmund Wu. Richard Wong and Maggie Ip have received the Medal earlier in Ottawa for their leadership in this national event.

The drumming event highlights include:

  1. Simultaneous national drumming for six minutes – Canadians of all cultures and ethnicities come together to drum in unity. This is to celebrate the rich culture of the multicultural make-up of Canada and to create a Canadian record.
  2. Guinness World Records™ Attempt – aim to set the record for “Most Nationalities in a Drum Circle (single venue)” of a recognized orchestral piece of music lasting at least five minutes. The attempt is based on the number of nationalities participating. To-date, there are drummers from 63 nationalities registered and the minimum number required by GWR is 50. The adjudicator, Claire Stephens, from Guinness World Records™, New York will announce the results at around 12:00-12:15pm.
  3. Take in the festivities from 10am to 4pm at Creekside Park, 1455 Quebec Street, Vancouver, BC (beside Science World) to enjoy multicultural stage performances, children activities – learn how to drum and photo booth, multicultural food trucks, sponsors’ booths, contests and more.

“We believe it is one of the few celebrations from coast to coast to coast,” said Richard Wong, National Elected Chair of the Society, “the Live broadcast across social media platforms really unites us which is the unique part of the celebration.”

“We are excited that we will likely bring a new Guinness World Records™ to Vancouver,” said Maggie Ip, Vice Chair, “what is more important though is it shows how multicultural Canada is and how the diverse communities can live together in harmony, something that is getting more and more rare in the world today.”

Please visit the official website www.canadadaydrumming.com/ to find out more and follow us on social media.

 

Download Press Release

 

Media Contact:

Choice Communication (Canada) Ltd.

Helen Yu

Tel: 604.601.2121 / Cell: 604.816.2828

Email: helen.yu@choicecommunication.ca

Vivien Poon

Tel: 604.601.2121 / Cell: 778 885 5333

Email: vivien.poon@choicecommunication.ca